clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four Reds Shortlisted for Premier League Top Individual Honours

Jürgen Klopp is a finalist for manager of the year while Jordan Henderson, Sadio Mané, and Trent Alexander-Arnold are player finalists.

FIFA Club World Cup Winners Portrait Session Photo by David Ramos - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

Jordan Henderson won the Football Writers’ Association Player of the Season award for leading the Reds to their nineteenth domestic league title this past year, and the captain could earn a second player of the year award as he’s no officially made the finalists list for the league’s top individual prize.

He has some tough competition, though, with teammates Sadio Mané and Trent Alexander-Arnold also on the finalists list along with Burnley’s Nick Pope, Leicester’s Jamie Vardy, Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne, and Southampton’s Danny Ings—and, with three Liverpool players in the running, there’s always a risk of a vote split.

If Henderson, Mané, and Alexander-Arnold do divide up the vote, the likely winner would be City’s De Bruyne. Meanwhile, there will be no risk of a vote split for the Red contender for Young Player of the Season, where Alexander-Arnold faces Jack Grealish of Aston Villa; Christian Pulisic and Mason Mount of Chelsea; Mason Greenwood, Anthony Martial, and Marcus Rashford of Man United; and Sheffield’s Dean Henderson.

Then there’s manager of the season, where Jürgen Klopp has unsurprisingly been nominated and is the presumed frontrunner in a shortlist including Frank Lampard of Chelsea, Brendan Rodgers of Leicester, and Chris Wilder of Sheffield United.

Fan vote will help to determine the winners, weighted alongside the votes of a selected panel of experts, and the Premier League awards for the 2019-20 season are expected to be announced after fan voting closes on Monday, August 10th.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Liverpool Offside Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Liverpool FC news from Liverpool Offside