clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Official: Sadio Mané Named PFA Fans’ Player of the Year

The Senegalese forward’s importance to Liverpool’s title run was recognised by the fans.

Liverpool FC v Crystal Palace - Premier League Phil Noble/Pool via Getty Images

With the Reds racking up 99 Premier League points on the way to winning their first league title in three decades, Liverpool players were always going to feature significantly in the end of season awards.

Jordan Henderson kicked things off, with the Liverpool captain named the football writers FWA Player of the Year. Then, Henderson along with Sadio Mané, Virgil van Dijk, and Trent Alexander-Arnold were all up for the panel-voted Premier League award—but a vote split helped Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne won that one.

Now, in the PFA Fans’ Player of the Year, it’s Sadio Mané’s turn. The last Liverpool player to win the award was Mohamed Salah in 2018, with Chelsea’s Eden Hazard taking the prize in a year when most of the individual honours went to Van Dijk.

As one part of Liverpool’s dangerous attacking trio, Mané scored 18 goals and added nine assists in 35 league appearances for Liverpool last year, with 22 goals, 12 assists, and 47 appearances in all competitions.

Now, with the writers, fans, and league all having picked their top player for the 2019-20 season, we’re down to waiting to see who wins the tiebreaker—and, for most, the most important one of all, the Players’ Player of the Year.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Liverpool Offside Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Liverpool FC news from Liverpool Offside