clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Salah Makes PFA Team of the Season but Firmino Snubbed

Only one Liverpool player makes the cut in a selection dominated by Manchester City and Tottenham.

Mohamed Salah has been named to the Professional Footballers’ Association team of the year, news that hardly stands as a surprise given the player is the current favourite to win Player of the Year and has begun to be talked of as a realistic Ballon d’Or contender.

There’s no room on the team, though, for teammate Roberto Firmino, and while it’s no surprise to see Tottenham’s Harry Kane leading the line, the inclusion of Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero on the left of a front three instead of him feels like at least a mild snub.

Given his 21 goals—third in league scoring—though, along with City’s position in the league and that Firmino remains underrated by many in the wider football world, and it’s not an especially surprising one. It’s also not surprising the rest of the team is dominated by City.

Midfielders Kevin de Bruyne and David Silva make the cut, while Kyle Walker and Nicolas Otamendi are in the backline, giving the league champions five of eleven in the team of the season. Spurs also get a lot of love, with Christian Eriksen and Jan Vertonghen joining Kane.

The team is then rounded out by Chelsea’s Marcos Alonso at left back and Manchester United’s season-saving David de Gea in goal.

Meanwhile, the PFA also announced the Championship team of the season today, with three once—and possibly future—rumoured Liverpool targets included by way of left back Ryan Sessegnon from Fulham, holding midfielder Ruben Neves from Wolves, and James Maddison from Norwich.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Liverpool Offside Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Liverpool FC news from Liverpool Offside