clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Liverpool Announce Full 2016-17 Pre-Season Schedule

New, comments

After earlier announcements concerning their North American pre-season tour, Liverpool have now revealed the remainder of their pre-season plans, with the first match set for July 8th.

Michael Steele/Getty Images

Amongst all the transfer rumours and Luis Suarez reunion stories, Liverpool today have announced the remainder of their pre-season plans. For most, the North American pre-season tour will have been the big reveal, along with news the club would play their final friendly of the summer against Barcelona at Wembley.

Before they get to that, though—and while many of the team’s first team regulars will be on leave following the conclusion of the Copa America and Euros—there will be a handful of warm-ups against lower league English competition as Jürgen Klopp looks to put his squad through their paces in his first summer in English football.

The big news is that Liverpool’s first pre-season match will be against Tranmere Rovers on July 8th, meaning that with the season having wrapped a little more than a week ago, it’s now only six weeks until the first kickoff of the next one. Tranmere will be quickly followed by Fleetwood Town, Wigan Athletic, and Huddersfield Town.

With Anfield’s main stand under construction, none of this year’s pre-season games are set to be played in Liverpool’s home stadium, and there has been some suggestion that the team may further be required to play the first two games of the season on the road while work is completed.

Liverpool’s Pre-Season Schedule:

July 8th, 7PM BST/2PM EST - Tranmere Rovers vs. Liverpool from Prenton Park
July 13th, 7PM BST/2PM EST - Fleetwood Town vs. Liverpool from Highbury
July 17th, 4PM BST/11AM EST - Wigan Athletic vs. Liverpool from DW Stadium
July 20th, 7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST - Huddersfield Town vs. Liverpool from JS Stadium
July 27th, 4:30AM BST (28th)/11:30PM EST - Liverpool vs. Chelsea from the Rose Bowl
July 30th, 3AM BST (31st)/10PM EST - Liverpool vs. AC Milan from Levi’s Stadium
August 6th, 5PM BST/12PM EST - Liverpool vs. Barcelona from Wembley