clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mane vs Keita: AFCON Groups Announced

Senegal and Guinea will meet in Group B.

Liverpool Training Session Photo by Andrew Powell/Liverpool FC via Getty Images

The groups for AFCON 2021 have been announced. They are as follows:

  • Group A : Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia, Cape Verde
  • Group B : Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi
  • Group C : Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon
  • Group D : Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau
  • Group E : Algeria, Sierra-Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Côte d’Ivoire
  • Group F : Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia

Of course, Liverpool FC will have three players, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Naby Keita, at the competition. Mane’s Senegal will face off against Keita and Guinea in Group B action.

In the last tournament, Mane and Senegal made the final, where they lost to the Algerians. Mane will no doubt be gunning to win his country their first AFCON title.

Keita and Guinea only made it to the round of 16, though if it’s any consolation, they fell to the eventual champions, Algeria.

As for Salah, Egypt will be making a record 25th appearance at the tournament. With the best African player on the planet playing for them, many eyes will no doubt be on Egypt and how they fare at the tournament.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Liverpool Offside Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Liverpool FC news from Liverpool Offside