clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Merseyside Derby Moved to Accommodate Champions League

New, comments

Liverpool’s away day at Everton will kick off a day early due to the Champions League.

Everton v Manchester United - Premier League Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

After the grumbles about Liverpool drawing the only remaining opponent from the same domestic league for the Champions League quarter finals passed, many fans turned to the schedule and noted that the dates of Liverpool’s Champions League games looked likely to cause a problem.

That’s because Manchester City and Liverpool were set to face off on April 4th and 10th, a Wednesday first leg and Tuesday second leg. And Liverpool had their away fixture against local rivals Everton scheduled for Sunday, April 8th—meaning just one day between it and the second leg.

Any worries the Premier League would refuse to shift the league game have been quickly put to bed with news the Everton match has been moved to Saturday, April 7th with a kickoff set for 12:30PM GMT/7:30AM EST—a televised match slot that had previously been vacant.

Liverpool won’t be alone in having a derby match between the Champions League legs, either, as Manchester City host Manchester United in the 5:30PM GMT/12:30PM EST slot on Saturday, April 7th.