clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Dates Confirmed for EFL Cup Semi-Final with Southampton

New, comments

The dates for both legs of Liverpool’s EFL Cup semi-final with Southampton have been confirmed.

Southampton v Liverpool - Capital One Cup Quarter Final Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images

The dates and times for the two-legged semi-final against Southampton have been confirmed. Liverpool have reached this stage for the third consecutive season and will hope to reach the final for a second season in succession under Jürgen Klopp.

The two legs along with the FA Cup third round will ensure that a minimum of seven games in January, making the first month of 2017 even busier than December. The first leg at St Mary’s is to be played on Wednesday, January 11 at 7.45PM GMT/2.45PM EST immediately after the third round of the FA Cup and before the trip to Old Trafford to face Manchester United on Sunday, January 15.

The second leg at Anfield is set for Wednesday, January 25 at 8PM GMT/3PM EST before the fourth round of the FA Cup. Reaching the fourth round of the FA Cup would add another fixture to an increasingly crowded schedule. Liverpool do have a Premier League home fixture against Swansea City on Saturday, January 21 at 12.30PM GMT/7.30AM EST. The early kick-off will give the Klopp’s side extra recovery time than Southampton as they host Leicester City on Sunday, January 22 at 12PM/7AM EST.

The draw for the FA Cup third round is on Monday, December 5 and will provide a clearer picture of the opposition both teams