clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: Welcome to 2016 Edition

New, comments

After the Liverpool match, there are seven other enticing matches in the Premier League to sink your teeth into.

Clive Mason/Getty Images

Happy 2016, folks! Pray to Fowler that for Liverpool Football Club it's better than 2015. Depending on the result of the West Ham game, it's either looking bright or just the worst so far.

What do we have to look forward to now for the rest of the day? Well, some pretty, potentially important matches. At 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST, there's six matches to choose between. Arsenal host Newcastle at the Emirates, where the Gunners will want a win in order to stay on top. Leicester City take on AFC Bournemouth, and the home team will be looking to get back to winning form after a loss and a draw. Elsewhere, Manchester United hosts Swansea City, Southampton visit Norwich City, Sunderland welcome Aston Villa, and Stoke City travel to West Brom. The late game sees Watford visit Manchester City at 5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST.

Depending on the result of the West Ham game, Liverpool may be able to capitalize on slip-ups made by the teams above them.

There's plenty of other football happening around the globe today. Check out ESPNFC's live score page to follow along. LiveSoccerTV has also has a schedule, along with legal live and repeated viewing options. Feel free to talk about any and all of it below, but please remember that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.