clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: The Boys Are Back in Town Edition

New, comments

The Premier League kicks off today with twelve teams looking to get their seasons off to a good start.

Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

After three long months, the Premier League is back, giving all of our lives meaning once again. While we have to wait another day to see Liverpool begin their inevitably title-winning run, there are still six games set to kick off the new season. Sick of a summer spent not wishing a disproportionate amount of ill-will towards someone? Well then you're in luck, because Manchester United host Tottenham Hotspur in the early fixture (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST). Louis van Gaal's men look to improve on their fourth place finish last season with a host of highly talented new signings. After that, the 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST games will be our first look at newly promoted sides Watford and AFC Bournemouth, as they take on Everton and Aston Villa, respectively. Leicester City also host Sunderland while Crystal Palace travel to Norwich City. To round out our games, Chelsea look to defend their title against Swansea City at Stamford Bridge in the late fixture (5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST).

There's plenty of other football happening around the globe today, including Ligue 1, Championship, and Coppa Italia action. Check out ESPNFC's live score page to follow along. LiveSoccerTV has also has a schedule, along with legal live and repeated viewing options. Feel free to talk about any and all of it below, but please remember that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.