clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: Wake Me Up When September Internationals End Edition

New, comments

It may be Liverpool's first Saturday match of the season, but there's seven other games happening as well on this jam-packed game day.

Dan Mullan/Getty Images

Liverpool play on a Saturday for the first time all season as part of a busy, fascinating game day. Five out of last season's top six teams play today, and none of them face each other, which means that results this week have the chance to make the table look quite interesting. This is also the last of that first chunk of four games before the September international break, and teams and fans will want to go into the hiatus on a high note.

First on the docket (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST), Arsenal travel north to take on Newcastle after a less than satisfactory result on Monday. There are five games that you'll be keeping track of on Twitter while Liverpool play at 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST. Chelsea welcome a tough Crystal Palace side to Stamford Bridge; Leicester head to Goldsands Stadium to take on Eddie Howe's Bournemouth; Timmy Sherwood's sickness-stricken Villa squad will host dreadful Sunderland, a team still searching for their first win of the campaign; poor, poor Watford head to the Emirates to face Manchester City; and finally, Stoke City take on West Brom in a match that sounds about as promising as a gender studies lecture hosted by Ryan Babel. Also, hey! Late games are a thing again, and this one's fun: Spurs and Everton at White Hart Lane (5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST).

There's plenty of other football happening around the globe today. Check out ESPNFC's live score page to follow along. LiveSoccerTV has also has a schedule, along with legal live and repeated viewing options. Feel free to talk about any and all of it below, but please remember that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.