clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Open Thread: All the Pointless Friendlies Edition

New, comments

Gotta love that FIFA calendar!

HE'S ALMOST TOO AWKWARD TO FUNCTION.
HE'S ALMOST TOO AWKWARD TO FUNCTION.
Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

We've once again reached an odd spot in FIFA's international friendly calender, where the club season is over and everyone wants to be on vacation yet they find themselves at their national team camps playing games that don't matter. What fun! Speaking of fun, England visit Ireland for a friendly that already has both FAs issuing pre-emptive warnings to fans about not being terrible people to one another (1:00PM BST / 8:00AM EST). Dejan Lovren's Croatia takes on Gibraltar (5:00PM BST / 12:00PM EST), Mamadou Sakho could face Simon Mignolet and Divock Origi and Christian Benteke during France vs Belgium (8:00PM BST / 3:00PM EST), and wee Philippe Coutinho's Brazil plays Mexico (9:00PM BST / 4:000PM EST). Day 2 of the Women's World Cup continues with Norway vs Thailand (6:00PM BST / 1:00PM EST) and the tournamnet's most lopsided match-up, Germany vs Côte d'Ivoire (9:00PM BST / 4:00PM EST).

For a full rundown of the day's games and viewing options visit LiveSoccerTV, and as a reminder, archived open threads can be found in the Sections menu at the top of every page.