clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Open Thread: ILORI-SAKHO 2015 Edition

New, comments

The weekend closes out with another full day of international matches, including chances for three of Liverpool's squad members to make an impact for their countries.

Michael Regan/Getty Images

One of the standouts from the first round of matches at the U21 Euros was Portugal's Tiago Ilori, who's expected to be given a chance in the preseason to work his way into the senior squad at Liverpool for the first time since joining in the summer of 2013. He'll feature in central defense again for Portugal against Italy in the nightcap (7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST), while Danny Ings will again start on the bench for England when they face Sweden earlier in the day (5:00PM BST/12:00PM EST). Over at the Copa America Philippe Coutinho should be available for selection to face Venezuela (10:30PM BST/5:30PM EST), and with Neymar out it's likely that the creative midfielder should be used at some point. Earlier in the day Colombia will meet Peru (8:00PM BST/3:00PM EST). The biggest matches of the day come in Canada, with three Round of 16 fixtures at the Women's World Cup. Brazil meet Australia in the first kickoff (6:00PM BST/1:00PM EST), France square off against South Korea in the second match of the day (9:00PM BST/4:00PM EST), and host nation Canada face Switzerland to close out the day (12:30AM BST/7:30PM EST).

For a full rundown of the day's games and viewing options visit LiveSoccerTV, and as a reminder, archived open threads can be found in the Sections menu at the top of every page.