clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Open Thread: Even England Can't Screw This Up Edition

New, comments

Some Euro qualifying, a couple of Copa America matches, and an LFC Legends fixture against Real Madrid on another busy day to finish out the weekend.

Stu Forster/Getty Images

Group E looks to be all but sealed up for England, who have earned maximum points from their first five matches and are six points ahead of today's opponent, Slovenia, and Switzerland. Mathematically they're not quite through, but it would take a stunning capitulation for them to miss out on next summer's finals. Jordan Henderson, Adam Lallana, Raheem Sterling, and James Milner should all feature for Roy Hodgson's side in the early kickoff (5:00PM BST/12:00PM EST), while Martin Skrtel and Slovakia--who are also perfect through their first five matches and sit atop Group C--host Macedonia later in the day (7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST). The two Copa America matches won't feature any Liverpool players if Philippe Coutinho is indeed ruled out for Brazil; Colombia faces Venezuela in the day's first match (8:00PM BST/3:00PM EST) with Brazil facing Peru in the nightcap (10:30PM BST/5:30PM EST).

There's also an LFC Legends match that will command a bit of attention at the Bernabeu (5:00PM BST/12:00PM EST), with a sold-out crowd set to watch a star-studded cast of former pros run out of steam after 15 minutes or so.

For a full rundown of the day's games and viewing options visit LiveSoccerTV, and as a reminder, archived open threads can be found in the Sections menu at the top of every page.