clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: Wembley Warm-up Edition

New, comments

A busy Saturday in England and beyond, with the first FA Cup semifinal taking place at Wembley and Manchester United's visit to Stamford Bridge the highlights.

Alexandra Beier/Getty Images

Still another day until Liverpool take on Aston Villa at Wembley, but they'll learn their potential opponents today when a heavily-favored and on-form Arsenal side face Reading in the competition's first semifinal (5:20PM BST/12:20PM EST). Early in the day there's the usual set of afternoon kickoffs in the Premier League and lower leagues, with Sheyi Ojo and Jerome Sinclair--who's been left out of the last few matchday squads--in the running for Wigan when they host Brighton, who recently lost Joao Teixeira for the season with a broken leg (3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST). The top flight's biggest event comes a few hourse later, where Manchester United can go second with a win over Chelsea at Stamford Bridge. Chelsea would still have a game in hand, but Louis van Gaal's side would at least temporarily be only five points back of the likely champions.

For a full rundown of the day's games and viewing options visit LiveSoccerTV, and as a reminder, archived open threads can be found in the Sections menu at the top of every page.