clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Wednesday Open Thread: Danny Ings Will Save Us Edition

New, comments

Plenty of mid-week action in England and Spain is here to distract us, and a few of the matches will have an impact on Liverpool’s top four hopes.

Bryn Lennon/Getty Images

With the FA Cup taking precedence on the weekend, today we get the rest of this round of mid-week Premier League matches to serve as distraction. Arsenal, like Liverpool and Spurs, have already played, but when it comes to competitors for the top four places that still leaves Manchester United and Southampton, with United hosting underdogs Burnley and the Saints welcoming West Ham.

It will take something special for Burnley to beat United, but with Louis van Gaal’s recent Sam Allardyce-related meltdown there seems at least the potential of things going hilariously off the rails for the Red Devils. West Ham, meanwhile, should pose a tough test for Southampton. Elsewhere, the marquee EPL match-up is probably Everton’s trip to face Chelsea. All three matches kick off at 7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST.

The biggest games of the day, though, aren’t in England, they’re in Spain where the first leg of the Copa del Rey semi-finals are being played today. First up, Barcelona host Villarreal and rumoured Liverpool striker target Luciano Vietto at 7PM GMT/2PM EST. Following that match, Athletic Bilbao host Espanyol at 9PM GMT/4PM EST. For the full day’s schedule and local viewing options, check LiveSoccerTV.