clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: The Show Must Go On

New, comments

Welcome back to normality as league football comes back to kick off the big winter season.

Alex Caparros/Getty Images

It's a big day for the Premier League, with Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal, Everton, and Leicester all playing, in addition to Liverpool and Manchester City in the late game. First on the docket, Manchester United visits Watford (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST) to kick off the crazy pants winter season of the Premier League.

The six games at 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST include Chelsea hopefully continuing their meltdown when they host Norwich City. Additionally, Jamie Vardy will be trying to continue his scoring streak when Leicester City travel to Newcastle. Elsewhere, Aston Villa visit Everton, Southampton host Stoke City, AFC Bournemouth travel to Wales to take on Swansea, and finally West Brom host Arsenal.

In news on the continent, today is also the first El Clasico of the season, and could possibly be Lionel Messi's first game back since his injury in September. If rumor mongering is to be believed, it may also be Cristiano Ronaldo's last derby. You'll have to switch back and forth between this game and Liverpool, because kick off is at 5:15PM BST/12:15PM EST.

There's plenty of other football happening around the globe today. Check out ESPNFC's live score page to follow along. LiveSoccerTV has also has a schedule, along with legal live and repeated viewing options. Feel free to talk about any and all of it below, but please remember that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.