clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: National Techies Day Edition

New, comments

We're back to our regularly scheduled seven games in the last game week before the October international break.

Tony Marshall/Getty Images

I've stumbled onto a national days calendar, so from now on, enjoy these random US national holidays with your weekend open threads. Today is National Techies Day, which celebrates people who work in skilled technology fields. If that's you, congratulations on your special day, I guess.

And onto football, today starts with Crystal Palace hosting West Bromwich Albion (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST). Of the five 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST games, the most interesting one looks to be Newcastle visiting Manchester City. After Newcastle's cracking performance against Chelsea last weekend, it will be interesting to see if they can pull another shocker against a struggling City side. Two newly promoted sides, Bournemouth and Watford, face off at Goldsands Stadium. Both teams have gotten off to rocky starts and could use the three points notched. Aston Villa host Stoke City, Leicester visits Norwich, and West Ham look to extend their top four stay when they travel to Sunderland. For the late game, enjoy the latest episode of the reality TV show known as Chelsea Football Club when they host Southampton at 5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST.

There's plenty of other football happening around the globe today. Check out ESPNFC's live score page to follow along. LiveSoccerTV has also has a schedule, along with legal live and repeated viewing options. Feel free to talk about any and all of it below, but please remember that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.