clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: National Food Day

New, comments

Despite lack of an early game, there's still six matches to keep you occupied today.

Stanley Chou/Getty Images

Today is National Food Day which, contrary to its name, is actually supposed to encourage healthy eating -- in particular to cut down on added sugars and sodium. Seems like a worthy enough idea, but more difficult in practice on a match day.

Those of you on the west coast can sleep in today, since matches don't commence until 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST. Five kick-offs are that time, including Aston Villa welcoming Swansea City, Crystal Palace traveling to Leicester City, Norwich City taking on West Brom at Carrow Road, and Watford visiting Stoke City. Finally, Chelsea look to string two victories together when they head to Upton Park. It may be more difficult than they're hoping, however, because West Ham have already laid waste to Arsenal, Liverpool, and Manchester City this season.

The late game sees Everton travel south to take on Arsenal at the Emirates at 5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST. This is a much-anticipated match that sees Everton as the underdogs despite their home field advantage. Arsenal has come back from an early season slump to dispatch both Manchester United and Bayern Munich in recent matches. Of course, Everton will have the added benefit of a full week of rest, since they aren't playing in Europe.

There's plenty of other football happening around the globe today. Check out ESPNFC's live score page to follow along. LiveSoccerTV has also has a schedule, along with legal live and repeated viewing options. Feel free to talk about any and all of it below, but please remember that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.