clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: The Cup Runneth Over Edition

New, comments

No Premier League this weekend, but plenty of FA Cup action to follow this afternoon to go along with matches around the continent.

Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

There are 17 FA Cup matches today, all of which kickoff in the 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST slot, and there should be three Liverpool loanees seeing time. Jordon Ibe and Derby County host Southport in a match Steve McLaren's side should expect to win comfortably, Joao Teixeira's Brighton Hove & Albion travel to Brentford, and West Bromwich Albion and Andre Wisdom--now under the control of Tony Pulis' hat--will look to advance against non-league Gateshead at the Hawthorns.

Out on the continent there's further loanee participation likely, with Iago Aspas likely in the squad for Sevilla when they host his former club Celta Vigo (5:00PM GMT/12:00PM EST) and Luis Alberto looking to continue his involvement for Malaga as they welcome Almeria (9:00PM GMT/4:00PM EST). Cup action in France means a chance for Divock Origi and his struggling Lille side when they head to Bastia (7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST).

For a full rundown of the day's games and viewing options visit LiveSoccerTV, and as a reminder, archived open threads can be found in the Sections menu at the top of every page.