clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Liverpool Name Champions League Squad

Liverpool are set to return to the Champions League in less than two weeks, and this is the squad Brendan Rodgers will have at his disposal throughout the group stage.

Jamie McDonald

Liverpool have named their full Champions League squad as they prepare to return to the competition for the first time since 2009. A 26-man squad made up of 22 List A players out of a possible 25 and supplemented by four List B players means that despite the club's newfound depth, there's still room in the squad for players like Fabio Borini and Lucas Leiva.

Both were rumoured to potentially be on their way out, and in some quarters there had been talk that one or both might find themselves frozen out—particularly in Borini's case given the player turned down moves to two clubs over the summer. Neither, though, appear to have ever been in real danger of missing out on being included on List A along with most of the other senior players.

Clubs can name a maximum of 25 players to List A and an unlimited number to List B to make up their final squad. Players are only eligible for List B if they are 21 years of age or younger and have been eligible to play for the club for at least two uninterrupted years since their 15th birthday. Between the two lists, every Champions League side must have at least eight home-grown players, and at least four of those must be club-trained.

A home-grown player is one who has spent at least three years registered to a club in the same association over a period of time up to and including the season during which he turns 21 years of age. For a club-trained player the same rule applies, only that player must have spent at least three years registered to the club selecting him. This differs from Premier League rules, which require eight home-grown players but have no club-trained requirement.

On the submitted squad, Jon Flanagan, Steven Gerrard, Raheem Sterling, and Suso qualify as club-trained. Brad Jones, Danny Ward, Glen Johnson, Jordan Henderson, Adam Lallana, Joe Allen, Rickie Lambert, Daniel Sturridge, and Fabio Borini further qualify as home-grown. Ward will become eligible to be counted as a club-trained player when squads are submitted for the knockout rounds should Liverpool reach them.

The list in full:


1 Brad Jones*
22 Simon Mignolet
52 Danny Ward^*


2 Glen Johnson*
3 Jose Enrique
4 Kolo Toure
6 Dejan Lovren
17 Mamadou Sakho
18 Alberto Moreno
19 Javier Manquillo
37 Martin Skrtel
38 Jon Flanagan^†*


8 Steven Gerrard†*
14 Jordan Henderson*
20 Adam Lallana*
21 Lucas
23 Emre Can
24 Joe Allen*
31 Raheem Sterling^†*
50 Lazar Markovic


9 Rickie Lambert*
10 Philippe Coutinho
15 Daniel Sturridge*
29 Fabio Borini*
30 Suso^†*
45 Mario Balotelli

* Home-grown, † club-trained, ^ List B

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Liverpool Offside Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Liverpool FC news from Liverpool Offside