clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: Enemy of My Enemy Edition

New, comments

Aston Villa host Arsenal to go with five other matches in the Premier League before Liverpool kick off, and a number of loanees will be in action on a busy Saturday.

Alex Livesey

Aston Villa beat Liverpool last weekend, which was an awfully rude way to welcome Mario Balotelli to Anfield, but they can make amends today by giving Arsenal a hard time at Villa Park (3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST) after QPR and Oussama Assaidi's Stoke City start the day (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST). The day's other late afternoon starts in the Premier League include Sunderland--and maybe Seba?--at Burnley, Newcastle United hosting Hull City in Alan Pardew's swan song, and the actual Swans (segue sturridgedance.gif) hosting high-flying Southampton.

Later in the day there's AC Milan hosting Juventus in a match that would have been important three years ago (7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST), but it could be fun to at least get a scouting report for Suso's next club, while in Spain there's Luis Alberto and Malaga visiting Espanyol in the La Liga nightcap (9:00PM BST/4:00PM EST). Joao Teixeira and Brighton host Blackpool, Jordon Ibe and Derby County are visited by Cardiff City, and Brad Smith's Swindon Town host Sheffield United to round out the loanee contingent in England's lower leagues (3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST). Rafa Paez could feature for Bologna as they face Crotone in Serie B action (2:00PM BST/9:00AM EST).

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.