clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: One-Man Renaissance Edition

New, comments

Burnley host Manchester United in the early kickoff with Chelsea visiting Everton later on, and a number of Liverpool loanees get in on the action as well.

Chris Brunskill

How good is Angel Di Maria? Hopefully good enough to feature as a central defender, commanding midfield presence, and the pacy, creative spark going forward while also getting Marcos Rojo's work permit cleared up sometime before Boxing Day. United head to Burnley in the day's opener to get their first win of the season (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST), and the highlight of the day in the Premier League comes as the other bookend with Chelsea visiting Goodison Park to face Everton (5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST). Andre Wisdom should get another start in the 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST kickoff for West Brom, who travel to Swansea City, who have started the season with two wins and are set to qualify for the Champions League if they can just hold out for 36 more matches.

Two big fixtures on the continent in the afternoon--Schalke host Bayern Munich, who are just weeks away from clinching the Bundesliga title, at 5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST, and in Serie A Roma will host Fiorentina at 7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST. Earlier in the day there's a chance for Divock Origi to square off against struggling Monaco (4:00PM BST/11:00AM EST), while Iago Aspas might feature for Sevilla when they head to Espanyol (10:00PM BST/5:00PM EST). Other Liverpool loanees in action on the day could include Joao Teixeira for Brighton v. Charlton, Jordon Ibe and Derby County v. Ipswich Town, and Brad Smith for Swindon Town v. Coventry City, all at 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.