clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: It's Never Too Early for the Race for Fourth Edition

New, comments

Everton and Arsenal face off in the day's marquee matchup, with six Liverpool loanees potentially in action as well.

Sascha Steinbach

A lot more moving parts this weekend than last, but we start in the Premier League with Aston Villa and Newcastle kick the day off early (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST) and four kickoffs in the 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST slot, including Andre Wisdom's West Brom taking on Southampton. Everton host Arsenal in the day's most intriguing matchup--last season this one, like so many other "big matches" Arsenal took part in--saw the North London side on the wrong end of a 3-0 result. Everton are missing Ross Barkley but should otherwise be at full strength, and it'll be interesting to see how Roberto Martinez lines his squad up against Arsene Wenger.

Five other loanees in addition to Wisdom could feature on the day; Brighton and Joao Teixeira face Bolton at 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST, Luis Alberto could feature for Malaga against Athletic Bilbao at 6:00PM BST/1:00PM EST, Divock Origi's Lille host Lorient and Bordeaux, Tiago Ilori's temporary club, travel to Nice, both at 7:00PM BST/2:00PM EST, and Iago Aspas might see time as a substitute when Sevilla host Valencia at 8:00PM BST/3:00PM EST.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.