clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: The Football is Back Edition

New, comments

The Premier League season kicks off today, with 14 of the league's 20 teams in action on the day.

Clive Brunskill

After three long months, the Premier League season is back, and with it comes a chance to practice as much schadenfreude and ill will toward others as is appropriate. And luckily for us the hate-mongering starts early, with Manchester United hosting Swansea City in the early kickoff (12:45PM BST/7:45AM EST). Louis van Gaal leads United into a Moyeless future, which by its very definition means more success, but they're still a squad in need of overhaul and *might* not secure the league title today. In the the 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST slot, QPR host Hull, Spurs visit West Ham, Leicester City and Everton face off, Stoke City host Villa, and West Brom and Sunderland. Most inspiring thing about these matches is that Tim Howard will not be in the commentary booth. Crystal Palace--now managerless after Tony Pulis' resignation/firing/whatever--head to the Emirates in the late kickoff at 5:30PM GMT/12:30PM EST.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, including all matches throughout the Football League as well as Ligue Unhhhh, and and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.