clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: Championship Playoff and Champions League Finals Edition

New, comments

Big Saturday in Europe and England as Real and Atletico face off in the Champions League final and Derby County meet QPR in the Championship Playoff final.

Shaun Botterill

One of the last meaningful days on the English and European club calendar is finally here. The day kicks off at Wembley, where Derby County--including Liverpool loanee Andre Wisdom and oft-rumored target Will Hughes--face QPR in the Championship Playoff final (3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST). Given their generally attractive brand of football and the fact that they're not managed by Harry Redknapp, it'd be nice to see Derby come through here.

Attention will then turn to Lisbon, where Atletico and Real Madrid will meet in the Champions League final (7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST). Diego Costa and Arda Turan may or may not be available, but Diego Simeone's squad proved they can cope in the 1-1 draw at Barcelona last weekend. Real half some half-decent players that will probably play as well. So Forza Atleti and all that.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.