clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Open Thread: Starting to Wrap It Up Edition

New, comments

Winding down our weekend open threads for the season with the final day in La Liga and Serie A, with a chance to possibly catch a couple of Liverpool loanees in action.

Ian Horrocks

Yesterday's FA Cup and DFB-Pokal Finals--won by Arsenal and Bayern Munich, respectively--along with the title-decider between Atletico and Barcelona in La Liga signaled the end of meaningful matches in Europe's first divisions. Pretty much everything's settled in terms of Champions and Europa League qualification in Spain and Germany with today's today's matches left to play. There is the Conference Premier Final in England between Cambridge United and Gateshead (4:00PM BST/11:00AM EST), with the winner set to join Luton Town in League Two.

Sebastian Coates has a chance to take part for Nacional against Fenix earlier in the day (2:00PM BST/9:00AM EST), and while Suso is still suspended for Almeria in their finale, Tiago Ilori could feature for Granada when they take on Real Valladolid (5:00PM BST/12:00PM EST). Granada need a result and a little bit of help to make sure they stay up, and Ilori's become a regular over the course of the past month.

As the headline states, this will probably be our penultimate weekend open thread unless there's a demand; next Saturday there's the Championship playoff final and Champions League final, both of which will probably warrant threads of their own, and we'll be sure to accommodate international friendlies in the lead-up to the World Cup, which will have plenty of coverage with a Liverpool-centric focus.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.