clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: Bundesliga Champions League Thunderdome

New, comments

No Premier League matches to follow, but promotion playoffs in Leagues One and Two along with busy days in the Bundesliga and Ligue One.

Paolo Bruno

With all twenty of the Premier League's teams set to kick off simultaneously tomorrow morning, there's nothing doing in England's top-flight. There is, however, three different playoff ties to follow in the lower leagues--Peterborough United host Leyton Orient in the day's first League One playoff (12:15PM BST/7:15AM EST), with Rotherham United visiting Preston North End in the evening kickoff (5:15PM BST/12:15PM EST). Down in League Two there's the first leg of York City and Fleetwood Town to keep track of (7:30PM BST/2:30PM EST).

Action on the continent includes just a few matches in La Liga and Serie A, while the Bundesliga and Ligue One offer 19 matches--and all 20 of the teams in France's top flight--between the two of them. With two matches left to play in Ligue One the Champions League spots are all but settled, with PSG and Monaco heading straight to group play and Lille entering via qualification barring a collapse that would see them surrender a five-point lead on the season's final two matchdays. Things are plenty interesting in Germany (all kickoffs at 2:30PM BST/9:30AM EST), where Champions League qualification is unsettled beyond Bayern and Dortmund at the top; Schalke are in one way or another but could get bumped to qualifying if they lose at home to Nurnberg and Leverkusen beat Werder Bremen, while Leverkusen's spot is threatened if they drop points--a draw for Leverkusen could send Wolfsburg into qualifying if they defeat Borussia Monchengladbach, while Monchengladbach could sneak in with a Leverkusen loss and a win at Wolfsburg. I think.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.