clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Open Thread: League Cup Final Edition

New, comments

Sunderland face Manchester City in the final of the League Cup, while the Premier League, La Liga, and Serie A have plenty on offer as well, including the Madrid derby.

Laurence Griffiths

Biggest event of the day comes first in England, with Sunderland hoping to cap their unlikely run to the League Cup final with another upset victory. Manchester City haven't been any great shakes of late, and with a poor outing in the FA Cup final last season in the loss to Wigan, a win for Gus Poyet's side wouldn't necessarily be the most shocking thing in the world. Neither would a 5-1 win for City, though. Either way, let's hope for a start and solid performance for Fabio Borini.

After that's all wrapped up we've got three Premier League matches starting at 4:30PM GMT/11:30AM EST, none of which are especially captivating unless you're running with the wild hope that Cardiff take points of Spurs at White Hart Lane. The stakes for the Madrid derby are as high as they've been in years, and hopefully that will produce an enthralling encounter rather than a drab 0-0. Give us the goals, people. Should be fun to watch Suso get his first taste of the Camp Nou later in the day (8:00PM GMT/3:00PM EST), and a few minutes before that one gets underway there's Milan v. Juventus to keep track of as Clarence Seedorf's squad continues their recovery effort.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page or LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.