clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Saturday Open Thread: Preparing for the Worst Edition

New, comments

Liverpool don't visit Old Trafford until tomorrow, so today we pass the time with a nearly full slate of Premier League action and plenty more around Europe's top leagues.

Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

The West Midlands derby appears to be the most compelling of the Saturday kickoffs in the Premier League, which doesn't necessarily bode well for the quality on the day. That's one of six 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST kickoffs, with Newcastle United visiting Arsenal for the nightcap (5:30PM GMT/12:30PM EST). Potential for an upset there given the two sides' form, but Arsenal seem to manage to get the results they need to stay on the right side of mediocrity, so it's likely they'll get the win before next weekend's trip to Anfield.

Earlier in the day Jordon Ibe visit Derby County visit Middlesbrough (12:15PM GMT/7:15AM EST), while out on the continent there could be a chance for Tiago Ilori as Bordeaux head to Nantes (4:00PM GMT/11:00AM EST). Luis Alberto could feature for Malaga when they host Celta Vigo at 9:00PM GMT/4:00PM EST.

For a full rundown of the day's games and viewing options visit LiveSoccerTV, and as a reminder, archived open threads can be found in the Sections menu at the top of every page.