clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Champions League Open Thread: Early Risers Edition

New, comments

For fans of Champions League football, it's worth tuning in early for a potentially decisive match between Roma and Moscow. Afterwards, City likely need to beat Bayern to stay alive.

Paolo Bruno/Getty Images

Today's big matches come from Group E. And with Bayern, Manchester City, CSKA Moscow, and Roma making up the group, perhaps that isn't surprising. What is surprising is that City have one foot out of Europe already and almost certainly need a win to avoid crashing out of the Champions League. Before they play, though, Roma travel to face CSKA Moscow for a 5PM GMT/12PM EST kickoff that could decide second in the group. Then, at 7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST, Manchester City host Bayern—and if there's a winner in the earlier match, nothing short of victory will keep City's slim hopes alive.

Most of the rest of today's action is in groups that are already largely decided, though there's still everything to play for in Group G, where Schalke host Chelsea and Sporting host Maribor. Both matches kick off at 7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST. For a full rundown of the day's games and viewing options, visit LiveSoccerTV, and as a reminder, archived open threads can be found in the Sections menu at the top of every page.