clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Open Thread: Hoping for the Worst Edition

New, comments

A number of Liverpool's direct rivals face off in what's set up to be an important set of fixtures early in the Premier League season.

Julian Finney

What a day, WHAT A DAY! At least what a day in the sense that the matchups on offer in the Premier League should influence where Liverpool stand in the table. Liverpool are up to sixth after the home victory against the Baggies yesterday but what about today's offerings? First we get Manchester United hosting Everton in Louis van Gaal's first real test as United boss (12:00PM BST/7:00AM EST). The new manager has failed a series of tests less difficult than this one already, but Everton aren't in terrific form and, depending on the outcome, United could be crowned champions with a win. Next it's two London derbies in two weeks for Arsenal, who travel to Stamford Bridge to face Chelsea, while at White Hart Lane Spurs host a Southampton squad that's been terrific to start the season (2:05PM BST/9:05AM EST). West Ham and QPR follow that set of fixtures at 4:15PM BST/11:15AM EST.

In Italy there's a must-see matchup between Juventus and Roma (5:00PM BST/12:00PM EST), the two standout teams early in the Serie A season, and Divock Origi could feature again for Lille when they visit Lyon (4:00PM BST/11:00AM EST).

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page for other matches the rest of the day, and LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.