clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: Liverpool Internationals

New, comments

England looks to bounce back, Italy hope to carry their momentum against the hosts, and Spain travel to Miami to face Haiti in a friendly.

Ian Walton

Kickoff:

England U21s v. Norway U21s 5:00PM GMT/12:00PM EST

Italy U21s v. Israel U21s 7:30PM GMT/2:30PM EST

Spain v. Haiti 9:00PM GMT/4:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPN3.com

Related: Insigne Free Kick Wins It for Italy

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

England: Jordan Henderson was probably the best of Liverpool's squad members involved against Italy, but that's not saying much given the disjointed performance turned in by Jonjo Shelvey and the lack of sharpness from Jack Robinson. The latter two could see their spots filled in the eleven by others; Robinson is likely to drop out in favor of the returning Danny Rose, and a shift in formation could push Shelvey out with Wilfried Zaha and Tom Ince expected to return. Norway got an injury time equalizer from Harmeet Singh to save a point against Israel, but England will have to look at this as a necessary three points.

Italy: We'll hope that Fabio Borini gets another start in attack, but we'll also be watching to get another glimpse of the brilliant Lorenzo Insigne, whose free kick won it against England. With a two point lead already, a win over the hosts will seal progress to the knockout rounds, and if they're able to increase their efficiency in the final third, that's all but a foregone conclusion.

Spain: After taking in a Miami heat game--and making strange hand signs and even stranger fashion choices--Pepe Reina will be a part of the squad that takes on Haiti at Sun Life Stadium. It's a warm-up for Spain ahead of the Confederations Cup and a match which they should win comfortably, but it's also a chance to raise money for the Phoenix Project, an organization that supports the redevelopment of Haiti after the earthquake in 2010.