clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: Skrtel and Slovakia Take On Liechtenstein

Only one World Cup qualifying match on tap with any sort of Liverpool interest, with Slovakia traveling to Liechtenstein in an important Group G matchup for the Slovakian's qualification hopes.

David Cannon

Kickoff: Liechtenstein v. Slovakia 7:00PM GMT/2:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPN3 in the US

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

Slovakia have to look at this as a nailed-on three points, as Liechtenstein have only earned one point in qualifying so far--a 1-1 draw with Latvia in their first match--and have been thumped nearly every other time out. It's critical that Slovakia stay in the hunt with Bosnia-Herzegovina and Greece, both of whom are on the road today and sit five and two points ahead of the Slovakians respectively. Martin Skrtel will feature as captain, and it's probably worth keeping an eye on the other two matches in Group G (LAT-BIH 5:30PM GMT/12:30PM EST; LIT-GRE 6:45PM GMT/1:45PM EST) as well.

Group B has the day's marquee matchup, with the Czech Rebublic hosting Italy at 7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST. Italy are on top with 13 points, and the Czechs sit third on 8 points, just two behind Bulgaria in second place with a match in hand. The Portugal-Russia fixture should be good as well, with the hosts hoping to end Russia's 100% start to qualifying and leapfrog them into first place in Group F. As above, both are available for US viewers on ESPN3.