clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: Spain Face Italy in Confederations Cup, France in U20 World Cup

New, comments

Spain's senior squad will face Italy in the Confederations Cup semi-final, while their U20s round off group play in Turkey against France.

Jasper Juinen

Kickoff:

Spain U20s v. France U20s 6:00PM BST/1:00PM EST

Spain v. Italy 8:00PM BST/3:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPNU (U20s), ESPN (ESP-FRA), ESPN3.com in the US

Related: Liverpool Internationals Stream

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

Spain U20s: Progress to the round of 16 is already secured but I'd guess Spain will be going for top billing here, meaning they'll need at least a draw against France today. Suso captained the side last time out and will likely be in the mix again, and the combination of Jese and Gerard Deulofeu--who's been linked with a loan move to Liverpool over the past few days--will start up front for Spain, who will have to rebound from a less-than impressive performance against a hard-working Ghana squad.

Spain: Pepe Reina certainly won't be anywhere near the pitch (or at least not any closer than he can get on the bench or celebrating a goal) as the senior squad take part in a rematch of the 2012 Euro final. The winner will move on to face Brazil in Sunday's final, while the loser will be taking part in that really important and not a money-making scheme at all third-place match. Either way, Reina's time looked to be up after the 10-0 over Tahiti, so...vacation!