clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: England U20s Face Chile, and Uruguay Meet Brazil in Confederations Cup Semi-Final

New, comments

Conor Coady and England hope to rebound from their disappointing draw with Iraq, while Uruguay face Brazil in the first Confederations Cup semi-final later in the day.

Laurence Griffiths

Kickoff:

Chile v. England 4:00PM GMT/11:00AM EST

Brazil v. Uruguay 8:00PM GMT/3:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPN (BRA-URU), ESPN3.com in the US

Related: Liverpool Internationals Stream

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

England: Conor Coady will captain England in their second group match against Chile, who sit on top of Group E after their win over Egypt in the opening round. England could have very well been sitting alongside the Chileans atop the group, but a late equalizer from Iraq leave Peter Taylor's squad playing catch-up. Coady gets the start, but Jon Flanagan is left on the bench after playing a full ninety against Iraq.

Uruguay: The Confederations Cup has been a fun competition to this point, and this one--two continental rivals facing off in a setting that's as much about what's going on outside the stadium as in it--will be fascinating to watch. Luis Suarez will no doubt get the start for Uruguay after a brief two-goal cameo against Tahiti, while Sebastian Coates will likely work his way back to the bench. Hard to see past Brazil in this one given the climate around the competition, but this is must-watch stuff.