clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: England U20s in the World Cup as Spain and Uruguay Finish Group Play

New, comments

Conor Coady and the England U20s get going in the World Cup, while group play wraps up with Uruguay needing a win against Tahiti to seal progress to the semi-finals.

Clive Mason

Kickoff:

England v. Iraq 7:00PM GMT/2:00PM EST

Nigeria v. Spain 8:00PM GMT/3:00PM EST

Uruguay v. Tahiti 8:00PM GMT/3:000PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPNU (ENG-IRA), ESPN (NIG-SPA), ESPN2 (URU-TAH) ESPN3.com in the US

Related: Liverpool Internationals Stream

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

England: Conor Coady will captain the U20s as they start group play against Iraq, and Jon Flanagan could be in the mix for a start as well. It'd be hard for this squad to be more disappointing than Stuart Pearce's U21s, but this is England we're talking about, so odds are pretty good they'll find a new and inventive way to disappoint. Watch this space!

Spain: Progress to the semi-finals was sealed with the 10-0 win over Tahiti, so it's likely that the squad will be further rotated. Pepe Reina played the entire match last time out, so here I'd guess that Victor Valdes or Iker Casillas will feature, with Reina back to the bench.

Uruguay: If Uruguay win they're in, and it's hard to see anything other than a victory for Luis Suarez and company, even though they've been less than impressive through their first two. Tahiti will be the sentimental favorite, of course, but there's no other outcome on the cards than a win and progress to the semi-finals for Uruguay. Hopefully Sebastian Coates gets another chance, and that this time he isn't booked almost immediately.