clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: Spain Meet Tahiti and Uruguay Take on Nigeria

New, comments

Pepe Reina and Spain meet with tournament darlings Tahiti in the opener, while Uruguay take on Nigeria in the nightcap.

Ronald Martinez

Kickoff:

Spain v. Tahiti 8:00PM GMT/3:00PM EST

Nigeria v. Uruguay 11:00PM GMT/6:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPN (SPA-TAH), ESPN2 (NIG-URU), ESPN3.com in the US

Related: Liverpool Internationals Stream

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

Spain: Pepe Reina might actually find himself in the mix to face everyone's favorite new national side, who were ultimately brushed aside by Nigeria but still managed to have some fun along the way. This one's over before kickoff as well, but hopefully Tahiti can scrape a goal or two when it gets really messy. If Reina's playing, that might just happen, as he's had a hell of a time keeping the ball out of the net during the minutes he's managed over the past few years.

Uruguay: I'm mighty interested to see this one, as neither side were particularly convincing in their openers. Nigeria did what was expected on the scoreline but failed to impress otherwise, and Uruguay were disjointed and disinterested for most of the match against Spain. Luis Suarez will start, but he'll have to find a way to connect better with the rest of the squad if Uruguay are going to avoid relapsing into the form they looked to shake with the win in Venezuela last week.