clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: Brazil-England and USA-Germany

New, comments

Glen Johnson starts for Roy Hodgson's England as they face Brazil in the newly remodeled Maracana, while the US and Germany square off at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C.

Shaun Botterill

Slow going today, but there's two international friendlies set to kickoff over the next while, with England in the glamour friendly against Brazil in Rio, while Jurgen Klinsmann gets reacquainted with the German national team in the nation's capital. From a Liverpool perspective there's only one name to follow--Glen Johnson will start at fullback for Roy Hodgson, who's missing Daniel Sturridge after the young striker suffered an ankle injury in the first half of the 1-1 draw with Ireland.

Will it be exciting? Most definitely not. But it'll be something, and more often than not that's better than nothing. Unless of course it's Roy Hodgson, then nothing is as much as you could possibly ask for.

liverpool blog fc sbn

Kickoff: USA-GER 7:30PM GMT/2:30PM EST; BRA-ENG 8:00PM GMT/3:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: USA-GER ESPN2 in the US; BRA-ENG beIN Sport in the US, ITV in the UK

liverpool blog fc sbn

USA: Howard; Evans, Gonzalez, Besler, Beasley; Jones, Bradley; Zusi, Dempsey, F. Johnson; Altidore

Germany: Ter Stegen; L.Bender, Mertesacker, Höwedes, Jansen; Reinartz, S. Bender; Schürrle, Draxler, Podolski; Klose

liverpool blog fc sbn

Brazil: Júlio César; Alves, Silva, Luiz, Marcelo; Paulinho, Fernando; Neymar, Oscar, Lucas; Fred

England: Hart; Johnson, Cahill, Jagielka, Baines; Jones, Carrick; Walcott Lampard Milner; Rooney