clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Liverpool Internationals: England Face Israel Before Bowing Out and Uruguay Visit Venezuela

England's disappointing U21 Euro campaign comes to a close as Italy's continues and Spain take on Ireland at Yankee Stadium before Uruguay close out the day with an important World Cup qualifier in Venezuela.

Michael Regan

Kickoff:

Israel U21s v. England U21s 5:00PM GMT/12:00PM EST

Italy U21s v. Norway U21s 5:00PM GMT/12:00PM EST

Spain v. Ireland 10:00PM GMT/5:00PM EST

Venezuela v. Uruguay 1:00AM GMT/8:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPN3.com

Related: Liverpool Internationals Stream

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

England: It's all over but the crying for England, who face Israel in their Euro 2013 finale. They'll have to recover from the humiliating loss to Norway on Saturday in order to salvage any dignity, and while Jordan Henderson is again likely a lock as captain, the rest of the Liverpool contingent--Jonjo Shelvey, Andre Wisdom, and Jack Robinson--might find themselves in substitute roles yet again. **Just kidding folks! Wisdom starts at CB and captains the side, Shelvey gets the nod in midfield, and Henderson is on the bench with Robinson.**

Italy: With Lorenzo Insigne out until the semifinal, Fabio Borini could see increased minutes after not featuring in the win over Israel. Insigne is far more versatile than Borini, but the two linked to decent effect in the 1-0 win over England in the opener, and it'd be hard to see Borini shut out in two consecutive matches, especially with advancement secured. **Borini got shut out for the second consecutive match.**

Spain: Pepe Reina conceded a wonderfully sentimental goal to Haiti over the weekend and probably wasn't too bothered about it, and he might get mop-up minutes again tonight against Ireland at Yankee Stadium.

Uruguay: The day's marquee fixture comes last, with Uruguay visiting Venezuela in a crucial World Cup qualifying match. Luis Suarez will certainly start, and there could be a spot for Sebastian Coates as well, as Uruguay look for their first win in qualifying in six matches. They have a game in hand and sit in seventh behind Venezuela, who are alone on points in the playoff spot.