clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Matchday: Liverpool's Internationals

New, comments

Keeping an eye on Liverpool's players involved in Tuesday's World Cup qualifiers, with a focus on Gerrard's return to action with England and Suarez' role in Uruguay's match against Chile.

Thorsten Wagner

Kickoff:

Slovakia v. Sweden 7:15PM GMT/3:15PM EST
Ways to Watch: Check local listings

Denmark v. Bulgaria 7:15PM GMT/3:15PM EST
Ways to Watch: Check local listings

France v. Spain 8:00PM GMT/4:00PM EST
Ways to Watch: Setanta (UK); ESPN2, ESPN3 (US)

Montenegro v. England 8:00PM GMT/4:00PM EST
Ways to Watch: ITV (UK); ESPN3 (US)

Chile v. Uruguay 11:30PM GMT/7:30PM EST
Ways to Watch: Setanta (UK); beIN Sport (US)

Preview: Liverpool's Internationals: Preview and Schedule

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

Slovakia: It's a friendly and so if Martin Skrtel wasn't well out of favour at Liverpool his likely involvement would at the least be a minor annoyance. But given that he is well out of favour at Liverpool the playing time might do him some good.

Denmark: Daniel Agger will captain Denmark as the look to build on Friday's good result and close the gap on Bulgaria in Group B.

Spain: Pepe Reina had expected to start against Finland but instead the nod went to Victor Valdes. If things change against France we'll let you know. Update: Nothing has changed.

England: Captain Steven Gerrard was rested against San Marino and is expected to start, while Glen Johnson remains in doubt and Daniel Sturridge is expected to start on the bench. Update: Both Gerrard and Johnson will start.

Uruguay: In the match of the day, Luis Suarez will start while Sebastian Coates watches from the sidelines in a match that with a win could put Uruguay's struggles of 2012 behind them—or that with a loss could leave qualification for the World Cup very much in doubt.