clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Sunday Football Open Thread

New, comments

Swansea and Bradford City meet in the League Cup final, Chelsea and Manchester City face off at the Etihad, and the Milan derby rounds off an interesting Sunday slate.

Michael Regan

League Cup:

Bradford City v. Swansea City 4:00PM GMT/11:00AM EST

Whether or not you care, Bradford's run to the League Cup final is a tremendous accomplishment, and while their presence isn't an ideal scenario for the money men, it makes for a romantic Wembley occasion. Swansea will be heavily favored, of course, but there's no reason Bradford can't take their fourth Premier League scalp on their way to lifting the trophy.

Premier League:

Manchester City v. Chelsea 1:30PM GMT/8:30AM EST
Newcastle United v. Southampton 1:30 PM GMT/8:30AM EST

Chelsea's trip to the Eastlands might not be the most watchable fixture on the day, as Rafa's been known to strangle the life out of an away match or two. Newcastle's suddenly very good again though, or at least that's what everyone wants you to believe, and they'll be visited by Southampton, who actually have been quite good over the past few weeks.

English Championship:

Wolves v. Cardiff City 2:00PM GMT/9:00AM EST

As the Championship calendar gets shorter the Cardiff are gonna blow it narrative ramps up, but today they'll have a chance to use one of their games in hand to their advantage at Wolves. Craig Bellamy's been a regular for the Welsh side, who'll be hoping to rebound from their disappointing loss on Tuesday to Brighton.

Serie A:

Inter v. AC Milan 7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST

Balotelli! Other things! It's actually a bit more than the occasionally charming, often impulsive Italian striker, as Milan have somehow found their way past Inter and up to third in the table. The win against Barca midweek will either provide a boost or a letdown, which may or may not cancel out throwing form out the window. Something's headed out the window, though.

Bundesliga:

Monchengladbach v. Dortmund 2:30PM GMT/9:30AM EST

Neither side's been particularly impressive of late, although with Bayern coasting it's mostly a race for European places anyhow. Dortmund rebounded from their brief slide with a 3-0 win over Frankfurt last Saturday, but Monchengladbach's winless in three and are fading fast from a shot at Europe.

Ligue One:

Lyon v. Lorient 1:00PM GMT/8:00AM EST
PSG v. Marseille 8:00PM GMT/3:00PM EST

The late match takes all of the headlines in France--at least the ones that haven't already been taken by Joey Barton's continued dipshittery--but earlier in the day second-place Lyon welcome Lorient to the Stade Gerland, hopeful of a result later in the day that could see that draw level on points atop the table with PSG. The nightcap promises...something, with the likelihood of non-football reasons making themselves just as notable as any actual match action.

Eriedivisie:

Feyenoord v. PSV 11:30AM GMT/6:30AM EST
Ajax v. ADO Den Haag 1:30PM GMT/8:30AM EST

Interesting day in the Netherlands, where four of the league's top eight clubs will face off against one another. Feyenoord host league leaders PSV in the early fixture, while Ajax host ADO Den Haag with the chance to benefit from any points dropped by PSV on their trip to Feyenoord.