clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Saturday Football Open Thread

Full slate of matches on tap for Saturday, with most of the bigger leagues across the continent in action to kick off the weekend.

Warren Little

Premier League:

Arsenal v. Aston Villa 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST
Norwich v. Everton 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST
QPR v. Manchester United 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST

Arsenal are hurting and Aston Villa are either terrible or the most promising young side in the top flight, so...stuff. Everton's trip to Norwich could be tricky, and QPR host the league leaders at Loftus Road with hopes of furthering the myth that their manager might actually know what he's doing.

English Championship:

Blackburn v. Leeds 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST
Blackpool v. Leicester 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST
Watford v. Derby County 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST

Matchups in and around the possible promotion spots, with only Cardiff out of action among the league's top six. Watford's been among the most watchable of late, and Paul Ince will likely end Blackpool's match with Leicester in a surly mood regardless of the result.

Scottish Premier League:

Hearts v. ICT 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST

Michael Ngoo's already scored against Inverness this season, and he's got a chance to keep up his impressive scoring record at Tynecastle.

La Liga:

Deportivo v. Real Madrid 7:00PM GMT/2:00PM EST
Barcelona v. Sevilla 9:00PM GMT/4:00PM EST

Real's been less than impressive away from home and could do wonders for our collective schadenfreude by dropping points at the league's bottom club. Barca are at Camp Nou against midtable Sevilla, and they'll have to hope that they're still interesting enough after losing to Milan that I can actually finish this sentence.

Bundesliga:

Bayern v. Werder Bremen 2:30PM GMT/9:30AM EST
Augsburg v. Hoffenheim 2:30PM GMT/9:30AM EST
Hannover v. Hamburg 2:30PM GMT/9:30AM EST

The entire world held their breath to see how Hoffenheim would survive without Ryan Babel, and the returns have not been encouraging. They face fellow relegation contenders Augsburg today, with Bayern continuing their trot to the finish line against Werder and Hannover hoping to jump into a European qualifying spot with a win over Hamburg. Also, HEUNG-MIN SON.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for the Liverpool Offside Daily Roundup newsletter!

A daily roundup of Liverpool FC news from Liverpool Offside