clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Liverpool's Internationals Preview and Matchday: CAF Qualifiers, Friendlies on Tap

New, comments

There's potential for four different Liverpool players to take part in international action on Saturday, with Nigeria and Cote d'Ivoire seeking World Cup qualification and Wales and Brazil taking part in friendlies to wrap up the day.

Feng Li

Friday's action was, from a Liverpool perspective, less than thrilling. Noel bravely recounted what was ultimately a day better spent drinking and waiting for the ceiling to spin than actually watching anything that was happening. That's a plan we endorse as a rule of thumb, of course, but Friday's fare was particularly maddening, and while things are a bit more heartening as the weekend gets going in full, keep the drinks at the ready as CAF qualifying wraps up and international friendlies threaten your emotional stability with their worthlessness.

liverpool blog fc sbn

Nigeria v. Ethiopia
3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST
U.J. Esuene Stadium, Calabar
beIN Sport in the US, BT Sport 2 in the UK

Victor Moses will surely play a part as Nigeria look to capitalize on their advantage earned in a 2-1 first leg victory. It wasn't especially impressive stuff from the Nigerians, who had to rely on two goals in the final 23 minutes to get the win. Moses was a peripheral figure at best, and while the Ethiopians won't be favored today, you'd expect better from Stephen Keshi's squad as they try to secure qualification.

Senegal v. Cote d'Ivoire
7:00PM GMT/2:00PM EST
Stade Mohamed V, Casablanca
beIN Sport in the US, BT Sport 2 in the UK

There wasn't a spot for Kolo Toure in the 3-1 first leg win, which saw Didier Drogba convert an early penalty and fellow Premier League and Chelsea veteran Salomon Kalou get the third for today's visitors. Senegal will need to do plenty of work if they're going to reach their second World Cup final. I don't know that Kolo gets any time here, but he's nailed on to be the most inspiring bench player/substitute on the day.

liverpool blog fc sbn

Wales v. Finland
6:00PM GMT/1:00PM EST
Cardiff City Stadium, Cardiff
Sky Sports 2 in the UK; check local listings

At minimum Joe Allen will be the inspiration for a set of children's books with an arboreal mammal as the protagonist, and there's also a good chance he features for Chris Coleman's Wales side today. Craig Bellamy's absence will be felt for the first time since he announced his retirement in October. Allen needs all the time he can get, so hopefully he'll be selected today before heading back to Merseyside.

Brazil v. Honduras
12:00AM GMT/7:00PM EST
Sun Life Stadium, Miami
beIN Sport in the US; BT Sport 2 in the UK

Lucas might play for Brazil, and there's also this, so no other explanation needed: