clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Liverpool's Internationals: Complete Schedule and Preview

New, comments
COPENHAGEN, DENMARK - JUNE 02:  Daniel Agger of Denmark in action during the International Friendly between Denmark and Australia at Parken Stadium on June 2, 2012 in Copenhagen, Denmark.  (Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images)
COPENHAGEN, DENMARK - JUNE 02: Daniel Agger of Denmark in action during the International Friendly between Denmark and Australia at Parken Stadium on June 2, 2012 in Copenhagen, Denmark. (Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images)
Getty Images

The Premier League season is only three games old and already it's time for yet another international break. Still, football is always better than no football. Unless a Liverpool player picks up an injury, of course, in which case it's much, much worse. At least this time around the vast majority of games are World Cup 2014 qualifiers and so have some kind of meaning attached to them, and no matter what might happen we've got you covered with a rundown of all the internationals with Liverpool involvement over the next week to help you set your schedule/figure out when it's okay to stop worrying…

Moldova v. England - Friday, September 7 - 7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST
England v. Ukraine - Tuesday, September 11 - 8PM BST/3PM EST

Steven Gerrard and Glen Johnson have both been called up by Roy Hodgson as England kick off their World Cup 2014 qualification campaign against Moldova on Friday before hosting the Ukraine on Tuesday. Moldova should be an easy three points for England if they expect to make it to Brazil, but Ukraine could offer a tougher test with the Euro 2012 co-hosts out for revenge after a 1-0 defeat at the hands of the English denied them a place in the knockout rounds.

Lithuania v. Slovakia - Friday, September 7 - 7:15PM BST/2:15PM EST
Slovakia v. Liechtenstein - Tuesday, September 11 - 7:15PM BST/2:15PM EST

Martin Skrtel will captain Slovakia against Lithuania and Liechtenstein in a pair of games they will be heavy favourites to take maximum points from. Having only qualified for the World Cup finals once on four attempts, in a group that also includes Latvia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, and Greece the Slovaks should this time around be favourites to at least advance to the playoffs as a second-place side, and automatically qualifying as group champions doesn't seem out of the question.

Denmark v. Czech Republic - Saturday, September 8 - 7:15PM BST/2:15PM EST

Like his defensive partner, Daniel Agger will also captain his national side, and with Denmark only having one match scheduled for the international break that means a little less to worry about for Liverpool fans. It's a tougher match than most, though, as the danes host the Czech Republic on Saturday in one of the more intriguing matches of the break.

Bulgaria v. Italy - Friday, September 7 - 7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST
Italy v. Malta - Tuesday, September 11 - 7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST

Joining Denmark and the Czechs in a top-heavy Group B, Italy kick off their qualification campaign against Bulgaria and Malta. Fabio Borini has been called up to the team and will at least make the bench, but going off recent Italy games one would expect his involvement to remain limited to a substitute appearance or two.

Wales v. Belgium - Friday, September 7 - 7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST
Serbia v. Wales - Tuesday, September 11 - 7:30PM BST/2:30PM EST

Wales won't be favourites to advance from a group that sees Croatia, Belgium, and maybe even Serbia likely to be favoured ahead of them, but hosting the Belgians on Friday before traveling to take on the Serbs on Tuesday gives Joe Allen and ex-Liverpool attacker Craig Bellamy a chance to make some noise in Group A. Three or four points would have supporters dreaming of Brazil; it's just as likely however that by next Wednesday morning Wales will find themselves at the back of the pack.

Saudi Arabia v. Spain (friendly) - Friday, September 7 - 9PM BST/4PM EST
Spain v. Georgia - Tuesday, September 11 - 6:30PM BST/1:30PM EST

Pepe Reina will watch Spain slaughter Georgia from the bench, with his drop in form over the last few seasons having ended any discussion as to whether he might at least deserve the chance to unseat Iker Casillas as Spain's top choice. There is the chance he could see action against Saudi Arabia on Friday in another of Spain's countless friendlies meant to line the pockets of RFEF.

Netherlands v. Turkey - Friday, September 7 - 7:30PM BST/2:30PM EST
Turkey v. Estonia - Tuesday, September 11 - 7:00PM BST/2:00PM EST

With Nuri Sahin's arrival at Anfield on loan, fans have a new national side to watch/enjoy/be nervous about, and in one of the round's marquee matches, Sahin and Turkey will take on the Netherlands on Friday before hosting Estonia in their second qualifying match.

Colombia v. Uruguay - Friday, September 7 - 9:30PM BST/4:30PM EST
Uruguay v. Ecuador - Tuesday, September 11 - 10:30PM BST/5:30PM EST

Even Istanbul is a short jaunt compared to the travel facing Luis Suarez and Sebastian Coates, with the two Uruguayans off to take on Colombia in Barranquilla before heading home to Montevideo to host Ecuador. With Brazil already qualified as hosts, the remaining nine South American confederations play each other home and away for four automatic qualification spots and a fifth-place playoff between CONMEBOL and the Asian Football Confederation, and with Uruguay strong in second place after five games their advancement already seems close to certain.

Mozambique v. Morocco (Africa Cup of Nations) - Sunday, September 9 - 3PM BST/10AM EST

Another player facing a potentially onerous travel schedule over the next week is Oussama Assaidi, who hasn't played a minute yet for Liverpool and as late as Monday wasn't considered ready to take part in a reserves match due to lingering injury concerns. Despite that, he's expected to be involved for Morocco when they travel to Mozambique for the first leg of the two countries' second round qualification playoff for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations. The return leg will take place in Morocco next month.

liverpool blog fc sbn

Elsewhere, Brad Jones joins up with Australia when they travel to face Lebanon and Jordan, while Martin Kelly, Jonjo Shelvey, and Jordan Henderson have all been called up by Stuart Pearce for England's U21 European Championship qualification campaign.