Saturday Open Thread: Plenty of Loathing to Go Around Edition

Laurence Griffiths

Two interesting early kickoffs get the weekend started, and there's plenty of action in the Premier League and elsewhere to carry us through the day.

No Liverpool this weekend is not fun, but we can at least shift our collective energy toward rooting against people that we don't like. The list is long and distinguished, and today it includes Arsenal v. Everton in the FA Cup and Manchester United's visit to West Brom (both at 12:45PM GMT/7:45AM EST). Pepe Mel is your 1-1 draw/2-1 squeaky bum time winner spirit animal today, and Team Asteroid should have your full support in North London. Then we turn our hateful gaze upon Stamford Bridge, where Spurs visit Chelsea and enjoyable football, tactical acumen, and self-awareness go to die (5:30PM GMT/12:30PM EST).

There's the MLS opening day later on--kickoffs range from 8:00PM GMT/3:00PM EST to 3:30AM GMT(Sunday)/10:30PM EST--with Atletico and Barcelona in action in La Liga and a busy Bundesliga slate on offer as well. Likely that other things are happening in other places too.

Check out ESPNFC's live scores page or LiveSoccerTV, which has a schedule along with live and repeat viewings on offer through legal providers. Check your local listings and the LiveSoccer schedule page to catch up, and feel free to talk about any and all of it below. Reminder that links to illegal streaming sites will be removed immediately and repeat offenders will be banned.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker