Saturday Open Thread: Back to the Club Football

Jan Kruger

International break is over--rejoice! Or at least do something other than twiddle your thumbs as you wait for Monday night to get here, as there's a packed Saturday schedule to follow.

Thank Fowler the international break is over, and Fowler be damned there's another one set to arrive in October. At least there's a study run of fixtures for Liverpool between now and then--they'll face Swansea on Monday, Southampton next Saturday at Anfield, Manchester United in the League Cup, Sunderland away, and finally Crystal Palace on October 5 before we have to do this whole thing over again. So it's not entirely terrible, and while we have to wait a little bit longer than everyone else this weekend, there's at least plenty of players in the Liverpool universe set to take part in a busy Saturday in club football.

Chelsea's visit to Goodison is the big one today in the Premier League, but there's Liverpool loanees across the contintent (though mostly in the UK) that should see action on the day. The rundown:

  • Joao Teixeira--Tranmere Rovers v. Brentford 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Conor Coady--Carlisle United v. Sheffield United 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Michael Ngoo--Sheffield Wednesday v. Yeovil Town 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Suso--Atletico Madrid v. Almeria 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Fabio Borini--Sunderland v. Arsenal 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Oussama Assaidi--Stoke City v. Manchester City 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Jack Robinson--Bournemouth v. Blackpool 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Henoc Mukendi--Partick Thistle v. Aberdeen 3:00PM BST/10:00AM EST
  • Pepe Reina--Napoli v. Atalanta 7:45PM BST/2:45PM EST

That's a fair bit of Liverpool-related football to follow, almost exclusively during the afternoon kickoff, and a nice compliment to the day's other offerings. As mentioned, Chelsea v. Everton (5:30PM BST/12:30PM EST) is the marquee matchup in the Premier League, but there's also Inter v. Juventus (5:00PM BST/12:00PM EST) and Villareal hosting Real Madrid (9:00PM BST/4:00PM EST) in matches that will see at least two of the four sides lose their 100% starts in Serie A and La Liga respectively.

Thanks to Elizabeth (via Bavarian Football Works) there's the ridiculously wonderful LiveSoccer.tv schedule page, which has all the day's action along with different viewing options. Extra goodies for those stateside as NBC Sports Live Extra now has every Premier League match on demand from this weekend on. That is a good thing. Reminder that links to streaming sites (at least the illegal ones) will be removed immediately, and repeat offenders will be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. Or just get a stern warning note from us to knock it off.

It's the weekend and the football's back, so let's enjoy it together.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker