Matchday: Uruguay Face Italy in Third-Place Match, Spain Meet Brazil in Final

Ronald Martinez

Luis Suarez and Uruguay face Italy in the third-place matchup, and later in the day Pepe Reina's Spain meet hosts Brazil in the final.

Kickoff:

Uruguay v. Italy 5:00PM BST/12:00PM EST

Brazil v. Spain 11:00PM BST/6:00PM EST

Ways to Watch: Check local listings; ESPN2 (URU-ITA), ESPN (BRA-ESP) ESPN3.com in the US

Related: Liverpool Internationals Stream

Comment: Join the conversation on the Liverpool Offside

liverpool blog fc sbn

Uruguay: They weren't convincing enough to overcome Brazil--who feel like the team of destiny here despite Spain's dominance--but Uruguay were about as good as they've been in the tournament so far in their semi-final loss. Luis Suarez didn't have his best night and will likely hope to finish on a better note today against a very good Italy side; most are looking past this match (and most of the ones before it) to some sort of resolution to his club future, which will hopefully be settled over the coming weeks. Doubtful that there's room for Sebastian Coates, who's only played a handful of minutes aside from his start against Tahiti.

Spain: Even though the Confederations Cup has the tone of a fun set of friendlies, becoming holders in a third major international tournament would be a significant achievement for Spain. It's hard to root against Brazil here, though this Spain squad have a penchant for squeezing out sentimentality in favor of possession, passing, and getting a goal (or more penalties than their opposition) when they need it. Pepe Reina will join Victor Valdes in watching Iker Casillas--who was very good against Italy from the sidelines. Like Suarez, the post-holiday period for Reina will be mighty interesting to watch given the arrival of Simon Mignolet.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker