Saturday Football Open Thread

Stuart Franklin

Matches on tap from England to South Africa, and at least a few that'll be of interest to Liverpool supporters.

Premier League:

Tottenham v. Newcastle 12:45PM GMT/7:45AM EST
Sunderland v. Arsenal 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST
Southampton v. Manchester City 5:30PM GMT/12:30PM EST

I suppose we can keep up the act of hoping the teams directly above Liverpool drop points even if it will ultimately amount to little--Spurs host Newcastle in the day's early match, and now that everyone's all high on Alan Pardew's squad again after they consulted FIFA and the past four transfer windows' targets from every other team to bring a few new names in, it's possible that they sneak a result at White Hart Lane. Arsenal have been slightly fragile away from the Emirates (aside from Anfield), and Southampton have been playing some good stuff under Mauricio Pochettino and nearly got something out of the reverse fixture with City on the season's opening day.

English League Two:

Burton Albion v. Rotherham 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST

Adam Morgan's final day with Rotherham might not see him get any playing time--he's been an unused substitute in each of their last two, with his last appearance coming in the 2-0 loss to Barnet on January 12.

Scottish Premier League:

Dundee United v. Hearts 3:00PM GMT/10:00AM EST

Michael Ngoo should feature again for Hearts, who are level on points with today's opponents on points and goal differential, and, depending on the day's other results, could go as high as fifth in the table with a win.

Serie A:

Juventus v. Fiorentina 5:00PM GMT/12:00PM EST
Lazio v. Napoli 7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST

Interesting-seeming day in Serie A, where four of the league's top six teams are in action against one another. Napoli can go level on points with Juventus if both they and Fiorentina win, a scenario that would also see La Viola climb within a point of their hosts.

Bundesliga:

Borussia Dortmund v. Hamburg 2:30PM GMT/9:30AM EST
Monchengladbach v. Leverkusen 2:30PM GMT/9:30AM EST

Hey, did you know Robert Lewandowski's leaving Dortmund? Oh good, because that's not happening for Liverpool. Better to focus on Heung-Min Son, who's everyone's favorite Bundesliga target that won't happen either even though most of us are trying to force him to Merseyside through collective willpower. Speaking of which, Marc-André ter Stegen will be in goal for Borussia Monchengladbach against Sami Hyypia's Bayer Leverkusen in a match that'll see the sides trying to hang onto their Champions and Europa League qualifying spots respectively.

African Cup of Nations:

Mali v. Ghana 6:00PM GMT/1:00PM EST

Ghana was favored to advance to the final, but a strange match against Burkina Faso leaves them in the consolation fixture to face Mali, who were dismantled by Nigeria in the other semi-final.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker