Liverpool's Internationals: Preview and Schedule

Oliver Hardt

Previewing Wednesday's internationals from a Liverpool point of view, with 100 England games for Steven Gerrard, a senior debut for Raheem Sterling, and a trip to Poland for Luis Suarez on the menu.

None of the games taking place on Wednesday actually matter for Liverpool's various participants, but that doesn't mean somebody can't get injured. With that fun thought in mind, we're here to help you keep track of when the games are on so you can watch nervously through your fingers—or maybe just so that you'll know when it's safe to stop worrying.

Czech Republic v. Slovakia - Wednesday, November 14th - 4:30PM GMT/11:30AM EST

The small matter that it's only a friendly aside, the Czech Republic taking on Slovakia on Wednesday offers perhaps the most interesting match of the week, pitting the formerly paired nations against each other for bragging rights. After being ruled out for Liverpool's match against Chelsea on the weekend through illness, Skrtel remains in Slovakia's plans for Wednesday, though whether he will be fit to start isn't yet known. If he does he will captain his country as they head into their version of a local derby match.

Turkey v. Denmark- Wednesday, November 14th - 7PM GMT/2PM EST

As previously reported, Daniel Agger has been ruled out of the Denmark squad after playing though a minor groin strain on Sunday but is expected to be fit to face Wigan on the weekend. Nuri Sahin, though, will make the trip to Istanbul and will at least expect to see time off the bench for Turkey.

Sweden v. England - Wednesday, November 14th - 7:30PM GMT/2:30PM EST

Steven Gerrard has been ruled fit and is expected to start to mark his landmark 100th England cap as he becomes only the sixth player to reach that milestone. Meanwhile, Raheem Sterling is expected to at least make an appearance as Roy Hodgson and England look to secure the young attacker's loyalties, with the 17-year-old currently eligible to play at the senior level for either England or Jamaica. Glen Johnson has also been included in the squad though Jonjo Shelvey has been ruled out thanks to a thigh strain suffered in training with Liverpool on Friday.

Poland v. Uruguay - Wednesday, November 14th - 7:45PM GMT/2:45PM EST

With November's international break a short one, Uruguay travels to Europe for a friendly against Poland rather than asking their European-based stars to fly back across the Atlantic for one game. Both Luis Suarez and Sebastian Coates have been included in the squad.

liverpool blog fc sbn

Elsewhere, that Pepe Reina's injury isn't quite fully healed means the goalkeeper escapes a ridiculous trip to Panama for the Spanish national team to line the RFEF's pockets (9:30PM GMT/4:30PM EST), and while Fabio Borini's broken foot remains broken, Italy hosting France represents what will be the most appealing game of the week for many neutrals (7:50PM GMT/2:50PM EST). Joe Allen and Wales, meanwhile, sit this round out.

Other matches of note for those desperate for a bit of action include the Netherlands facing Germany (7:30PM GMT/2:30PM EST) and the United States traveling to Krasnodar to take on Russia (3PM GMT/10AM EST).

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Join The Liverpool Offside

You must be a member of The Liverpool Offside to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at The Liverpool Offside. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker